EU joins a coalition to use trade policy to address climate change

27 JANUARY 2023

On 19 January, the European Commission, EU Member States, and 26 partner countries launched “The Coalition of Trade Ministers on Climate”, which according to DG TRADE is the first Ministerial-level global forum dedicated to trade and climate and sustainable development issues.

Specifically, the Coalition aims to help with the identification of ways in which trade policy can contribute to addressing climate change.

The coalition is open to all interested countries, and so far consists of more than 50 ministers from 27 jurisdictions. The four co-leads are Ecuador, the EU, Kenya, and New Zealand. The other participants are: Angola, Australia, Barbados, Cabo Verde, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Iceland, Gambia, Japan (Foreign Affairs & Trade), Republic of Korea, Maldives, Mozambique, Norway, Philippines, Rwanda, Zambia, Singapore, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States and Vanuatu.

Additionally, it is foreseen that civil society, business, international organisations and climate and finance communities will participate in the Coalition's work.

The next Ministerial meeting will take place in the margins of the next WTO Ministerial Conference planned in early 2024.

More information:

Contact: Lebo Mofolo,