Spanish Presidency of the EU Council 1 July – 31 December 2023

7 JULY 2023

Spain has succeeded Sweden in the six-month rotating presidency of the European Council, which will last until the end of the year, and then be followed by Belgium (January-June 2024).

The four priorities of the Spanish presidency are the EU industrial policy, and guaranteeing its open strategic autonomy, advancing in the green transition, promoting greater social and economic justice, and strengthening European unity.

Regarding trade, the Spanish presidency will coincide with ongoing negotiations including the conclusion of the Australia FTA, negotiations with India, and the launch of negotiations with Thailand. High on the priority list for Spain will be Mercosur, and the signature of the agreements which has been provisionally proposed for the EU-CELAC (Community of Latin American and Caribbean States) summit taking place 17-18 July 2023.

More information:

Contact: Lebo Mofolo,