President-elect of the European Commission presented her team and priorities for the next 5 years


On 10 September, President-elect of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, presented her team and the new structure of the next European Commission. Among the candidates for Commissioners, please note:

  • Phil Hogan (Ireland), the incumbent Commissioner for Agriculture, will be in charge in the new Commission of the ‘Trade' portfolio.
  • Stella Kyriakides (Cyprus), a medical psychologist will lead the ‘Health' portfolio.
  • Janusz Wojciechowski (Poland) will be in charge of the portfolio ‘Agriculture’

The structured proposed by the president-elect reflects the three main priorities of the next Commission:

  • An Executive Vice-President, Frans Timmermans (Netherlands), will coordinate the work on the European Green Deal.
  • An Executive Vice-President, Margrethe Vestager (Denmark), will coordinate the agenda on a “Europe fit for the digital age” and be the Commissioner for Competition.
  • An Executive Vice-President, Valdis Dombrovskis (Latvia), will coordinate the work on an “Economy that Works for People”

Please see here the list of the Commissioners presented by Ursula von der Leyen.

Next steps:

  • The European Parliament should hold hearings with each of the candidates for Commissioner. Thus, the composition of the next Commission can still change.
  • Once the process of hearings is over, the European Parliament should give its consent to the entire College of Commissioners;
  • The next Commission should take office on 1st November 2019.